1/8th a doctor


So, one semester down… and about 7 more to go! So, I’m about 1/8 a doctor. And about 1/16th a practicing physician. Pretty ballin if I must say so myself…. Do I feel like a doctor? No.. Duh… Do I feel like a med student?.. Depends on the day. It is break now however, and I am trying to not feel like a med student.

So, yes, break. Which means my first semester finals are over. And, since I’m still writing in this blog, it means I passed them and am not failing out of med school. But I suppose that wasn’t a too big of concern anyways.  There have been some rough patches and some patches where I feel my motivation is very much lacking. But grinding through those times is necessary to get through med school (at least so far). There have been a good amount of good times and successes, however. Both on and off the field (the field being school… I miss watching football). And the new friends, connections and opportunities have definitely contributed to the good times – if not being the sole reason I was having a good time. One semester down and there are a lot of things I’ve learned. A lot of knowledge about medicine, science, and physician-ing (yeah, it’s not a real word). But I’ve also acquired some knowledge about life. So I’ll break it down for you, Scrubs style (make sure you listen to the links at appropriate times).

1. You can stress as much as you want, but you’re still going to get the same result. Why not forget about the stress and just do the best you can? This is true in both life and school. Now listen to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AQDkMre5aM

2. If you’re waiting for that one moment in life to define who you are, it may not come. It leaves you hoping for that one moment and seen by JD in this clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qx2GNt5hgH8

3. You can’t always get what you want. You can’t always get what you want. You can’t always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, well you might find, you get what you need……..

4. There’s rarely a point in doing it if you can’t find a way to enjoy it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D8kNoIav-vk

5. Crazy things can come from Friday nights. But they might lead to something great.

6. Don’t drink alcohol and then consume Tylenol, kids. (Note: I didn’t do this, but they talk about it in every class in med school).

7. If we never learn who Ted Mosby’s wife is, I’m gonna freak (this isn’t something I actually learned, it’s just a thought of mine)… http://cheezburger.com/6727031808

Anyways, that was fun.

My next semester classes are Neurology, Immunology, Human Organ Systems, and Fundamentals of Clinical Practice.. The good news is, no anatomy, genetics, or biochemistry…

LP

On top the world – Imagine Dragons: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8PrTzLaLHc

Waiting for my real life to begin – Colin Hay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4tcRlHY-3Q

 

About lukeprest

I was born in Lubbock, Texas. But for all intents and purposes I am from Iowa. I have lived in Iowa my entire life except for the brief few months after I was born. Growing up I wanted to be a number of things – a paleontologist, a businessman, an accountant, a dentist, and, yes, a doctor. I have one sister, two brothers, one brother-in-law, and one sister-in-law. They, as well as my parents, have really guided me to where I am today. My first year of undergrad was at Iowa State University in which my major was computer engineering. After one semester, I swiftly changed my major to biochemistry. I transferred to the University of Iowa the next year. I have been involved in three research projects, one in which a paper was recently published online.
This entry was posted in Medical School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1/8th a doctor

  1. Scrubs and how i met your mother references? I’m definitely following!

Leave a comment